5 Steps to Get Your Real Estate License in Florida
Selling real estate requires a passion for people and properties, and it also requires a license.
First, you need to be at least 18 years old, a high school graduate or equivalent and have a U.S. Social Security number. If you meet those basic requirements, you’re ready for the next five steps.
Step 1: Take the pre-license course
Take the state-approved sales associate 63-hour pre-license course and pass the exam.
This course focuses on real estate laws, principles and practice, and real estate math. You can take the course online or in a classroom at a real estate school or at Realtor associations and boards statewide. Course packages vary from $100 to $500.
You must pass the exam with a score of at least 70 percent.
NOTE: If you’re approved to practice law in Florida, you don’t need to take the pre-license course. You may take the sales associate exam by affixing a copy of your current Florida Bar card to the exam application.
Step 2: Apply to take the Florida real estate exam
- Get your electronic fingerprints. The Department of Business and Professional Regulations (DBPR) needs them in order to run a background check. You’ll need to have your fingerprints taken at least 5 days before you send your license application. See where and how to get electronic fingerprints (PDF). Each fingerprint vendor sets the price for their services, but the typical cost is $50 to $80. You will need to provide your Social Security number and the following ORI number: FL920010Z.
- Submit an application to the DBPR. The fee is $83.75, which you can pay online or by mail with a check or money order.
The DBPR reviews all applications. The Pearson VUE company will notify you by email when your application has been approved (generally takes 10 to 30 days).
Step 3: Take and pass the state real estate exam
Pearson VUE oversees the state exam process and offers the course in a variety of formats and locations. The cost is $36.75 per exam.
Watch your email for a notification from Pearson VUE with the subject line “Authorization to Test” letting you know that you are eligible to take the test. This email includes your nine-digit Candidate ID number, which you need in order to sign up for the exam with Pearson VUE. To schedule an exam, call 888.204.6289 or visit PearsonVUE.com.
You must pass the exam with at least 75 out of 100 points.
After passing the exam, download and print your license through your secure account at the DBPR website. Once your initial license is activated, it is valid for 18 to 24 months, depending on when you pass the state exam.
Step 4: Affiliate with a broker
Your real estate license is not technically active until you are affiliated with a licensed broker. A sponsoring broker will activate your license using the DBPR RE 11–Sales Associate form (PDF).
Step 5: Join a local Realtor association/board
You will probably choose to join the local board associated with your broker. Local board dues and offerings vary, so you may want to explore your options.
Once you join your local board, you will officially be a Realtor and a member of the Florida Realtors state association and the National Association of Realtors.
3 steps to getting an Illinois real estate broker license
- You must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or equivalent to enroll in broker pre-license courses.
- If you meet the minimum requirements you may enroll in the mandatory real estate education courses.
Want a quick overview? Start Your Career in Real Estate is a handbook of what you need to know to get your real estate license in Illinois.
Step 1: mandatory real estate education
Our Illinois approved pre-license program consists of two required components:
- a Broker Pre-License Topics course AND
- a Broker Pre-License Applied Real Estate Principles course
Scholarships are available
Scholarships are available through the Illinois Real Estate Educational Foundation. We are the only Illinois real estate education provider to offer tuition reimbursement through the GI Bill®. Learn more about these programs.
Step 2: take the Illinois real estate licensing exam
Within two years of completing your pre-license education, register for and take the real estate licensing exam with PSI/AMP (the state exam administrator). It is recommended that you thoroughly review the Illinois Real Estate Examination Program Candidate Handbook before registering.
Illinois brokers must work under the sponsorship and supervision of a managing broker, so you will need to ask a managing broker to sponsor your license before you submit your application. Submit your license application and fee to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR)